Producer and Import Price Index in IndustryIPPI

Sources
Paru le : 20/03/2019
Consulter

Description

Description

The calculation of Producer and Import Price Indices in industry replies to the European regulation on short-term statistics ("STS" EC regulation no. 1165/98 of the Council of 19 May1998, amended by the EC regulation no. 1158/2005 of the Council of 6 July 2005).

Thanks to these indices, calculated by the « Direction des statistiques d'entreprises (DSE)":

- Economists can evaluate and analyze economic trends. Many French and international public and private organizations use them as economic indicators : European Central Bank (ECB), International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), etc.;

- Short term analysts and National accountants can deflate the production that comes from corporate structural statistics and as such to carry out the breakdown between development of the activity in volume and development of prices ("price-volume" sharing). In fine, they can determine the evolution of Gross Domestic Product ;

- Companies and local communities can use these indices for contractual indexations. Companies can also use indices to monitor the changes in import and cost prices in their activities and to assess their competitiveness in relation to their competitors.

History

The survey of industrial producer prices followed the investigation wholesale prices established in 1970 (similar collections already existed in the early twentieth century). The survey in its current form began in 1977, but it was then quarterly. Dissemination of monthly Industry price indices began in 1989, when the European Regulation No 1165/98 concerning short-term statistics (STS) has imposed to publish monthly price indices. In 2001, Insee began to track production price indices in Industry to foreign markets. Purchase import prices followed in 2005, also on a monthly basis, following an update of the STS Regulation (No 1158/2005). Since 2011, some fine aggregates have been transmitted as average prices to the Observatory of Prices and Margins of food products.

Produced from

Related to

Indice des prix à la production et à l'importation dans l'industrieIPPI

Sources
Paru le : 09/12/2018
Consulter

Description

Résumé

Le calcul des indices de prix de production et d'importation de l'industrie relève du règlement européen sur les statistiques de court-terme (règlement CE dit " Short Term business Statistics (STS) " n°1165/98 du conseil du 19 mai 1998, modifié par le règlement CE n° 1158/2005 du conseil du 6 juillet 2005.

Ces indices, calculés chaque mois par la Division "Indices des Prix à la Production" permettent de suivre les évolutions des prix sur différents marchés.

Ils sont utiles :

- aux économistes pour évaluer et analyser les tendances de la conjoncture. De nombreux organismes publics ou privés, français ou internationaux les utilisent comme indicateurs conjoncturels : Banque Centrale Européenne (BCE), Fonds Monétaire International (FMI), Organisation de Coopération et de développement (OCDE), …

- aux conjoncturistes et aux comptables nationaux pour déflater la production issue des statistiques conjoncturelles et structurelles d'entreprises et d'effectuer ainsi le partage entre l'évolution de l'activité en volume et l'évolution des prix ("partage volume-prix") pour les besoins de calcul du volume du Produit Intérieur Brut ,

- aux entreprises pour indexer des contrats. Les entreprises peuvent également employer ces indices pour suivre l'évolution des prix d'importation et de revient dans leur branche et apprécier leur compétitivité par rapport à leurs concurrents.

Historique

L'enquête sur les prix de vente industriels fait suite à l'enquête des prix de gros mise en place en 1970 (des collectes similaires existaient déjà au début du XXe siècle). L'enquête sous sa forme actuelle a démarré en 1977, mais elle était alors trimestrielle. La mensualisation des indices de prix de l'industrie s'est amorcée à partir de 1989. En mai 1998, le règlement européen (CE) n° 1165/98 concernant les statistiques conjoncturelles (STS) a imposé une fourniture mensuelle des indices de prix de l'industrie. À partir de 2001 a débuté le suivi des indices de prix à la production de l'industrie pour les marchés extérieurs. Les prix d'achat à l'importation sont suivis depuis 2004, sur un rythme également mensuel, suite à une mise à jour du règlement STS. Depuis 2011, certains agrégats fins sont transmis en niveau de prix moyen à l'Observatoire de la Formation des Prix et des Marges des produits alimentaires.

Produit de

Séries ou indicateurs liés