Survey on observation of prices in industry and servicesOpise

Sources
Paru le : 15/11/2018

Description

The survey “Observation of Prices in Industry and Services” measures the monthly or quarterly evolution of transaction prices for goods or services. It aims at meeting the obligations of the European regulation on short-term statistics.

The producer price indices in industry and business services are also used as deflators by INSEE national accountants to calculate the evolution in volume of production and subsequently the value added of the branches, in the same way than consumer price indices.

The results of the survey cover different branches of activity via :

· The monthly Producer Price Indices in the Industry which measure the evolution of prices for the production of goods and services, linked to a particular industrial activity and sold on the French domestic market or on foreign markets;

· The monthly Purchase Price Indices for Imports of Industrial Products which measure changes in the prices of products and services bought by French economic agents from non-resident agents;

· The quarterly Producer Price Indices in Services which measure the evolution of transaction prices of French services related to a particular service activity and sold to legal or natural persons on the French domestic market or to external markets;

· The quarterly Price Indices of Maintenance and Improvement of Dwelling which measure changes in prices of construction companies (including craft businesses) for their works of maintenance and upgrading of residential buildings (and also non-residential, extension of the current survey).

History

The survey in its present form began in 1977, and was quarterly at first. Monthly publication of Production Price Indices in the industry began in 1989 in France while the European Regulation (EC) No 1165/98 related to short-term statistics (STS) imposed only in May 1998 a monthly supply of Production Price indices in the industry by Member States of the European Union.

The monitoring theProducer Price Iindices of the industry for foreign markets began in 2001.

Import purchase price indices have been monitored since 2004, on an even monthly basis, following an update of the STS regulation (No 1158/2005).

The Producer Price indices in Services was launched in 1992 and their first publication began in 1994. The collection and dissemination of production of these price indices are quarterly from the beginning.

The "STS-package", which is currently being defined, requires an extension of the scope of services to all market services from sections H to N excluding K (financial services), with an all-market approach ("BtoAll"), beyond only business services. This STS-package is part of the framework regulation "FRIBS" being defined.

Plus d'informations

Type of operation

Survey

Legal owner

  • Department of Business Statistics

Frequency of data collection

Monthly

Related to

Enquête observation des prix de l'industrie et des servicesOpise

Sources
Paru le : 25/04/2019

Résumé

L'enquête Observation des prix de l'industrie et des services (OPISE) mesure l'évolution mensuelle ou trimestrielle des prix de transaction de biens ou des services.

Elle répond aux obligations du règlement européen sur les statistiques de court terme.

Les indices de prix de production de l'industrie et des services aux entreprises sont également utilisés comme déflateurs par les comptables nationaux de l'Insee pour le calcul de l'évolution en volume de la production, puis de la valeur ajoutée des branches, au même titre que les indices de prix à la consommation.

Les résultats de l'enquête OPISE couvrent différentes branches d'activité via :

- Les indices de prix à la production de l'industrie mesurent l'évolution des prix de la production des biens et services, liés à une activité industrielle déterminée et vendus sur le marché intérieur français ou sur les marchés extérieurs.

- Les indices de prix d'achat à l'importation de produits industriels mesurent l'évolution des prix des produits et prestations achetés par des agents économiques français à des agents non résidents.

- Les indices de prix à la production des services mesurent l'évolution des prix de transaction des services français liés à une activité de services déterminée, et vendus à des personnes morales ou physiques sur le marché intérieur français, ou des marchés extérieurs.

- Les indices de prix des travaux d'entretien-amélioration des logements (IPEA) mesurent l'évolution des prix pratiqués par les entreprises de la construction (y compris artisanales), pour leurs travaux d'entretien et d'amélioration des bâtiments résidentiels (et non résidentiels, extension de l'enquête en cours) réalisés au cours du trimestre estimé.

Historique

L'enquête sous sa forme actuelle a démarré en 1977, mais elle était alors trimestrielle. La mensualisation des indices de prix de production de l'industrie s'est amorcée à partir de 1989. En mai 1998, le règlement européen (CE) n° 1165/98 relatif aux statistiques conjoncturelles (STS) a imposé une fourniture mensuelle des indices de prix de production de l'industrie.

À partir de 2001 a débuté le suivi des indices de prix à la production de l'industrie pour les marchés extérieurs.

Les prix d'achat à l'importation sont suivis depuis 2004, sur un rythme également mensuel, suite à une mise à jour du règlement STS (n° 1158/2005).

Le chantier des prix de production des services aux entreprises, pour sa part, a été lancé en 1992 et a débouché en 1994 sur la publication des premiers indices. La collecte et la diffusion des indices de prix de production des services aux entreprises sont trimestrielles.

Le " STS-package ", en cours de définition, requiert une extension du champ des services à l'ensemble des services marchands des sections H à N hors K (services financiers), dans une optique tous marchés (" BtoAll "), donc au-delà des services aux entreprises. Ce STS-package fait partie du règlement cadre " FRIBS " en cours de définition.

Plus d'informations

Type d'opération

Enquête

Organisme responsable

  • Direction des Statistiques d'Entreprises

Fréquence de collecte des données

Mensuelle

Indicateurs produits

Séries ou indicateurs liés