Producer cost indices for construction

Sources
Paru le : 18/08/2018
Consulter
Sommaire

Description

Description

The producer cost indices for construction are composite indices of costs which are derived from several cost items in an analytical accounting process similar to the “KLEMS” approach used by economists in relation to productivity (where K = capital for “equipment”, L = labour, E = energy, M = materials, S = services for “miscellaneous costs”), to which we have added T = transport. They are the statistical twins of the building (BT) indices, civil engineering (TP) indices, and various indices for construction, which are used for contract escalation. The producer cost indices for constrution are subject to revision and are used for national accounts, macroeconomic analysis and international comparisons.

History

The Council Regulation (EC) No 1165/98 of 19 May 1998 concerning short-term statistics, amended by the regulation No 1158/2005, asks in its annex “B - construction” to provide the variables No 320, 321 and 322, which correspond to “construction costs”, with a decomposition between “material costs” and “labour costs”. Those variables, which are to be provided as indices, must correspond to the construction of new residential buildings.

More broadly, deflators are needed for national accounts and macroeconomic analysis. However, the construction sector is only partially covered by the producer price indices (see construction of new residential buildings PPI and maintenance and improvement of existing dwellings PPI- IPEA). Until now, the building (BT) indices, civil engineering (TP) indices, and various indices for construction (whose responsibility was transferred to Insee by the Decree No 2014-114 of February 7, 2014 and the circular of May 16, 2014 relative to BT, TP and various construction indices (pdf file), were used as deflators, but they cannot be revised and their requirement to be published during the third month following the month under review leads to some temporal gaps (notably for labour costs) which are suboptimal for statistical works. The producer cost indices for construction are revised, furthermore they follow a calculation method similar to the one used for the BT and TP indices.

Produced from

Related to

Indice des coûts de production dans la construction

Sources
Paru le : 09/12/2018
Consulter
Sommaire

Description

Résumé

Les indices des coûts de production dans la construction sont des indices composites de coûts, appréhendés par des postes de charges dans une démarche comptable analytique de type KLEMS familier aux économistes de la productivité (K = capital pour « matériel », L = labour pour « travail », E = energy pour « énergie », M = materials pour « matériaux », S = services pour « frais divers »), auquel on a ajouté un poste T = « transport ». Ils sont les pendants statistiques des index Bâtiment (BT), Travaux Publics (TP) et divers de la construction, qui servent à indexer des contrats. Les indices des coûts de production dans la construction sont révisables et servent à la comptabilité nationale, aux analyses macroéconomiques et aux comparaisons internationales.

Historique

Le règlement européen (CE) sur les statistiques conjoncturelles n° 1165/98 modifié n° 1158/2005 demande dans son annexe « B - construction » des variables 320, 321 et 322 correspondant aux « coûts de la construction », avec une décomposition en « coûts des matériaux » et en « coûts salariaux ». Ces variables, fournies sous forme d'indices, doivent correspondre à la construction de bâtiments résidentiels neufs.

Plus largement, les comptes nationaux et les analyses macroéconomiques ont besoin de déflateurs, or le secteur de la construction n'est que partiellement couvert par des indices de prix de production (cf. les indices de prix de construction neuve à usage d'habitation et les indices de prix d'entretien-amélioration des logements). Les index BT, TP et divers de la construction, confiés à l'Insee par le décret 2014-114 du 7 février 2014 et la circulaire du 16 mai 2014 relative aux index BT, TP et divers de la construction (fichier pdf), faisaient office jusqu'à présent de tels déflateurs, mais ils ne sont pas révisables, et les besoins de leur parution le troisième mois suivant le mois sous revue conduisent à certains décalages temporels (notamment pour les coûts salariaux) sous-optimaux dans une démarche statistique. Ces points sont corrigés dans les calculs des indices des coûts de production dans la construction, qui suivent par ailleurs une démarche semblable au calcul des index BT et TP.

Produit de

Séries ou indicateurs liés