Population census 

RP

Sources
Paru le :Paru le21/05/2024

The population census makes it possible to determine the official populations of France and its administrative districts.

It also provides statistics on the characteristics of the inhabitants (gender, age, profession, nationality, employment, etc.), households (composition, size, family ties, etc.) and their dwellings (type of dwelling, type of building, number of rooms, etc.).

The census data are disseminated every year.

Articles 156 to 158 of Law No. 2002-276 of 27 February 2002 on local democracy provide a framework for census operations. In particular, they define the partnership between INSEE and the municipalities for carrying out the census.

The municipalities - or the public establishments for inter-municipal cooperation (EPCI) - prepare and carry out the census surveys. INSEE organises and controls the data collection. It then collects the information, processes the questionnaires and disseminates the results.

Nearly 350 articles of laws or orders refer to the population of each administrative district. They concern the organization of the municipalities as well as our daily life: the State's allocations to the municipalities, the number of municipal councillors, the conditions for the establishment of pharmacies, the constitution of communities of agglomerations, the rates of certain taxes (advertising, games, shows, liquor stores, etc.). The results of the census are also used to plan the necessary community facilities (schools, hospitals, etc.).

The first census of the modern era took place in 1801. From 1946 onwards, when INSEE was founded, all municipalities were exhaustively enumerated at irregular intervals (every 6 to 9 years). These general population censuses ended in 1999.

Since 2004, the census has been based on an annual collection of information, successively concerning all municipalities with less than 10,000 inhabitants and 40% of dwellings in municipalities with more than 10,000 inhabitants over a five-year period.

The first five Annual Census Surveys (ACS) were conducted from 2004 to 2008. They produced the results of the 2006 census, the mid-point of the period. Since then, each year, census results are produced from the five most recent annual surveys, dropping the information from the oldest survey and taking into account the new survey.

Documentation par millésimes

Survey

Annual

intertitreintertitreintertitre

Recensement de la population

RP

Sources
Paru le : Paru le 03/10/2022

Le recensement de la population permet de déterminer les populations légales de la France et de ses circonscriptions administratives.

Il fournit également des statistiques sur les caractéristiques des habitants (sexe, âge, profession, nationalité, mode de transport, etc.) et de leurs logements (type de logement, type de construction, nombre de pièces, etc.).

Les données du recensement sont diffusées chaque année.

Les articles 156 à 158 de la loi n°2002-276 du 27 février 2002 relative à la démocratie de proximité encadrent les opérations de recensement. Ils définissent notamment le partenariat entre l'Insee et les communes pour la réalisation du recensement.

Les communes - ou les établissements publics de coopération intercommunale (EPCI) - préparent et réalisent les enquêtes de recensement. L'Insee a pour mission d'organiser et de contrôler la collecte des informations. Il recueille ensuite l'information collectée, exploite les questionnaires et diffuse les résultats.

Près de 350 articles de lois ou de codes se réfèrent à la population de chaque circonscription administrative. Ils concernent l'organisation des communes comme notre vie quotidienne : les dotations de l'État aux communes, le nombre de conseillers municipaux, les conditions d'implantation des pharmacies, la constitution de communautés d'agglomération, les barèmes de certaines taxes (publicité, jeux, spectacles, débitants de boissons, etc.). Les résultats du recensement sont également utilisés pour prévoir les équipements collectifs nécessaires (écoles, hôpitaux, etc.)

Le premier recensement de l'ère moderne a eu lieu en 1801. À partir de 1946, date de création de l'Insee, toutes les communes ont été recensées exhaustivement à intervalles irréguliers (tous les 6 à 9 ans). Ces recensements généraux de la population ont pris fin en 1999.

Depuis 2004, le recensement repose sur une collecte d'information annuelle, concernant successivement toutes les communes de moins de 10 000 habitants et 40 % des logements des communes de plus de 10 000 habitants au cours d'une période de cinq ans.

Les cinq premières enquêtes annuelles de recensement (EAR) ont été réalisées de 2004 à 2008. Elles ont permis de produire les résultats du recensement, millésimé 2006, date du milieu de la période. Depuis, chaque année, des résultats de recensement sont produits à partir des cinq enquêtes annuelles les plus récentes avec abandon des informations issues de l'enquête la plus ancienne et prise en compte de l'enquête nouvelle.

Documentation par millésimes

Enquête

Direction des statistiques démographiques et sociales (DSDS)

Annuelle

intertitreintertitreintertitre