Annual Census Surveys 

ACS

Sources
Paru le :Paru le21/06/2024

Since 2004, the population census has been renovated and is based on a data collection spread over 5 years by means of an annual census survey (ACS). This census is therefore not designed to produce results for a single collection year.

The EAR concerns all the departments of metropolitan and overseas France as well as the overseas communities of Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy (article 156 of the "Démocratie de proximité" law 2002-276 of 27 February 2002).

The other COMs carry out, by way of derogation (Article 157), general population censuses every five years.

For municipalities with fewer than 10,000 inhabitants, the census is exhaustive and is conducted every five years: the municipalities are divided into five groups, one group being surveyed each year.

For the municipalities of 10 000 inhabitants and more, the collection is organised every year on a sample of dwellings drawn from the Répertoire d'Immeubles Localisés (RIL) which is continuously updated. Each year 8% of the dwellings of the municipality are surveyed, and the result of the census is calculated from the collections of 5 consecutive years, i.e. 40% of the dwellings.

Each year, the method of collection of the municipalities (five-yearly exhaustive census or annual survey) is re-evaluated according to the crossing (upwards or downwards) of the threshold of 10 000 inhabitants.

The 5-year census data are documented separately.

Documentation par millésimes

Survey

Annual

intertitreintertitreintertitre

Enquêtes Annuelles de Recensement 

EAR

Sources
Paru le :Paru le06/12/2023

Depuis 2004, le recensement de la population a été rénové et s’appuie sur une collecte de données répartie sur 5 ans au moyen d'une enquête annuelle de recensement (EAR). Ce recensement n'est donc pas conçu pour produire des résultats sur une seule année de collecte.

L'EAR concerne tous les départements de France métropolitaine et d’Outre-mer ainsi que les communautés d'Outre-mer de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy (article 156 de la loi « Démocratie de proximité » 2002-276 du 27 février 2002).

Les autres COM procèdent, par dérogation (article 157), à des recensements généraux de la population tous les cinq ans.

Pour les communes de moins de 10 000 habitants, la collecte est exhaustive et a lieu tous les 5 ans : les communes sont réparties en 5 groupes, un groupe étant recensé chaque année.

Pour les communes de 10 000 habitants et plus, la collecte est organisée tous les ans sur un échantillon de logements tirés à partir du Répertoire d’Immeubles Localisés (RIL) tenu à jour en continu. Chaque année 8 % des logements de la commune sont recensés, et le résultat du recensement est calculé à partir des collectes de 5 années consécutives, c’est-à-dire de 40 % des logements.

Chaque année, le mode de collecte des communes (recensement exhaustif quinquennal ou sondage annuel) est réévalué en fonction du franchissement (à la hausse ou à la baisse) du seuil de 10 000 habitants.

Les données du recensement sur 5 ans font l'objet d’une documentation distincte.

Documentation par millésimes

Enquête

Direction des statistiques démographiques et sociales (DSDS)

Annuelle

intertitreintertitreintertitre