Survey on the organisational changes and computerisation 

COI

Sources
Paru le :Paru le19/07/2024

The Organisational Change and ICT use (C.O.I. in French) survey is intended to identify the organisational changes and ICT changes that have characterised corporate life in the last three years and their impact on economic performance in terms of employment and job content. C.O.I. is a matched employer / employee survey device, enhanced by outside information. The business section of the survey seeks to characterise the company's forms of organisation and recent changes in them stemming from the mobilisation of management tools and IT tools. The labour force section of the survey makes it possible to analyse the concrete organisation of labour, the use of these tools by employees, support for the changes in terms of training and wage policy, and to evaluate their effects on working conditions, employee selection, etc.

Enhancement through other surveys or administrative files also provides information on economic characteristics and on the structure of the companies' workforce.

Two key ideas are behind the C.O.I. survey. First, analysis of information and communication technologies cannot be disassociated from the study of organisational changes, since these play a mediating role in the genesis of innovative uses of information technology. Then, in order to construct a robust system for measuring change, it is appropriate to bring together the viewpoints of the company's representatives and those of its employees. This combination provides a more complete overview of the organisation through articulation of the tools adopted by management as experienced by employees; this makes it possible to analyse the impact of company decisions on work and to study the interactions between the trajectories of both.

A first survey was conducted in 1997 and a second in 2006.

The 2006 survey follows on from the previous one; however, the survey mechanism was partially renewed. The scope of the survey has been extended. Restricted to industry in 1997, it now covers the entire merchant sector (transport, trade, hotels, financial and business services). The coupling is no longer limited to companies with more than 50 employees, but starts from companies with 20 employees. And, whereas in 1997 the employees who left the company at the time of the collection were not questioned, leaving aside some of the most precarious employees, they will be questioned in the new survey using the secondary "employees" questionnaire.

Finally, an experiment will be conducted in the civil service using a specific questionnaire.

The "business" part of the survey was linked to the European survey on the diffusion of ICT in enterprises because the 2 surveys are aimed at the same population of enterprises, have similar themes and are conducted during the same period. The size of the business questionnaire was increased, with specifically European questions accounting for around 15% of the questionnaire.

Some of them are an integral part of the C. O. I. questioning. However, many of these questions are grouped in the last part of the questionnaire, as the reference period for European questions differs from the I. O. C. questions.

The "companies" and "employees" questionnaires have also evolved to include new themes, which were presented in Part 4 "Survey objectives and types of results disseminated" of the dossier submitted to the Label Committee, and to include new tools that have been developed since 1997: information and communication technologies or management tools, specific to a function or transversal.

Survey

Punctual or aperiodic

intertitreintertitreintertitre

Enquête sur les changements organisationnels et l'informatisationCOI

Sources
Paru le : Paru le 25/08/2019

Résumé

L’enquête C.O.I. est un dispositif d’enquêtes couplées entreprises / salariés sur les changements organisationnels et l’informatisation.

Le volet «entreprises» de l’enquête cherche à cerner l’organisation stratégique de l’entreprise, la manière dont elle mobilise les outils de gestion concernant tant les relations avec les clients et fournisseurs, la production ou la logistique, que le système d’information et les ressources humaines, et enfin les outils techniques couramment regroupés sous les termes Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication (TIC).

La collecte auprès des salariés apporte une information complémentaire sur l’organisation des postes de travail et sur les usages des TIC mais interroge aussi plus largement sur les conditions et le rythme de travail, le fonctionnement des collectifs de travail, l’acquisition et l’utilisation des compétences, les contreparties salariales. Cette enquête permet ainsi d’évaluer les effets sur les salariés des nouvelles organisations et formes de management sur le travail, en lien avec l’utilisation des TIC. Sa mise en relation avec d’autres sources sur les entreprises permet d’étudier les performances productives et les caractéristiques de la main d’œuvre associées aux nouvelles formes d’organisation et à l’informatisation.

Historique

Une première enquête a été réalisée en 1997, une seconde en 2006.

L’enquête de 2006 s’inscrit dans la continuité de la précédente ; cependant le dispositif d’enquête a été partiellement renouvelé. Le champ de l’enquête a été étendu. Limité à l’industrie en 1997, il concerne désormais l’ensemble du secteur marchand (transports, commerce, hôtellerie, services financiers et services aux entreprises). Le couplage ne se limite plus aux entreprises de plus de 50 salariés, mais commence à partir des entreprises de 20 salariés. Et, alors qu’en 1997 les salariés ayant quitté l’entreprise lors de la collecte n’étaient pas interrogés, laissant ainsi de côté une partie des salariés les plus précaires, ils le seront lors de la nouvelle enquête au moyen du questionnaire « salariés » secondaire.

Enfin, une expérimentation sera menée dans la fonction publique à l’aide d’un questionnaire spécifique.

Le volet « entreprises » de l’enquête a été articulé à l’enquête européenne sur la diffusion des TIC dans les entreprises car les 2 enquêtes visent la même population d’entreprises, ont des thématiques voisines et se déroulent pendant une même période. La taille du questionnaire « entreprises » a été augmentée, les questions spécifiquement européennes représentant environ 15 % du questionnaire.

Certaines d’entre elles sont partie intégrante du questionnement C.O.I. ; cependant, beaucoup de ces questions sont groupées dans la dernière partie du questionnaire, la période de référence des questions européennes étant différente des questions C.O.I.

Les questionnaires « entreprises » et « salariés » ont également évolué de manière à intégrer de nouvelles thématiques, qui ont été présentées dans la partie 4 « objectifs de l’enquête et types de résultats diffusés » du dossier remis au Comité du Label, et de manière à inclure les nouveaux outils qui se sont développés depuis 1997 : technologies de l’information et de la communication ou outils de gestion, spécifiques à une fonction ou transversaux.

Remplacée par

Type d'opération

Enquête

Fréquence de collecte des données

Apériodique ou ponctuelle

Séries ou indicateurs liés