National Directory for the Identification of Natural Persons / RNIPP

Définitions
Dernière mise à jour le : 13/10/2016

Définition

The national directory for the identification of natural persons (RNIPP), maintained by INSEE since 1946, is the model for public service registers. It is regularly updated through statistical bulletins on civil status changes, drawn up and sent to INSEE by municipalities and containing details of births, deaths, recognitions and marginal notes made in birth certificates for persons born in metropolitan France or the overseas departments (DOM).

This register only includes information on the civil status of citizens: family name sometimes the usual name (or marital name), given names, gender, date and place of birth, date and place of death for the recently deceased, number of birth certificate (and death certificate) as well as the national registration number (NIR).

The recording of civil status data has three purposes:

  • updating the registers: the RNIPP and the National System of Management of the Identities managed by the CNAV and which is an image of the RNIPP and on which is leaned all the directories of the social sphere. The contents of the RNIPP, and the fact that it is so regularly updated, make it an essential instrument for the French public authorities, serving notably to remove any confusion arising from people sharing the same name. It is also used by the tax authorities and pension funds to verify the civil status of individuals.
  • contributing to health monitoring: since the heatwave of 2003, and with the agreement of the National Committee on Information Technology and Civil Liberties (CNIL), INSEE sends daily information on deaths to the Institute for Health Monitoring (InVS).
  • generating demographic statistics which are a tool to assist the decision-making process.

Remarque

Possession of this register is controlled by various legal texts (law, decree, declaration of the CNIL). Thus, since Law No. 78-17 of January 6th 1978 concerning information technology, files and civil liberties, use of the RNIPP must be approved by decree of the Council of State, acting on advice from the CNIL. Decree 82-103 of January 22nd 1982 set the conditions for supply and use of the RNIPP, and order 96-345 of April 24th 1996 established the RNIAM.

Répertoire national d'identification des personnes physiques / RNIPP

Définitions
Dernière mise à jour le : 13/10/2016

Définition

Le répertoire national d'identification des personnes physiques (RNIPP), tenu par l'Insee depuis 1946, est l'image des registres d'état civil. Il est mis à jour très régulièrement grâce aux bulletins statistiques de l'état civil établis et adressés à l'Insee par les communes à la suite de naissances, décès, reconnaissances, et mentions  portées en marge des actes de naissance pour les personnes nées en France métropolitaine et dans les départements d'outre-mer (DOM).

Dans ce répertoire ne figurent que des informations sur l'état-civil : le nom de famille et parfois le nom d'usage (ou nom marital), les prénoms, le sexe, la date et le lieu de naissance, la date et le lieu de décès pour les personnes décédées, le numéro de l'acte de naissance (et de décès)... ainsi que le numéro d'inscription au répertoire (NIR).

La gestion de l'état civil a trois finalités :

- La mise à jour des répertoires : RNIPP et le Système National de Gestion des Identités géré par la CNAV et qui est une image du RNIPP et sur lequel sont adossés l'ensemble des répertoires de la sphère sociale. Le contenu du RNIPP et sa mise à jour quotidienne en font, de fait, un instrument fondamental de l'état civil en France destiné en particulier à lever le doute sur les homonymies. Il est de fait utilisé par l'administration fiscale et les caisses de retraite pour certifier des états civils.
- La participation à la fonction de veille sanitaire : depuis la canicule de l'été 2003, et en accord avec la commission nationale de l'informatique et des libertés (Cnil), l'Insee transmet quotidiennement à l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS) des informations sur les décès.
- L'élaboration de statistiques démographiques qui constituent un outil d'aide à la décision.

Remarque

La tenue de ce répertoire est encadrée par des textes législatifs (loi, décret, avis de la Cnil). Ainsi, depuis la loi n°78-17 du 6 janvier 1978 relative à l'informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés, l'utilisation du RNIPP doit être autorisée par décret en Conseil d'état après avis de la Cnil. Le décret 82-103 du 22 janvier 1982 fixe les conditions d'alimentation et d'utilisation du RNIPP et l'ordonnance 96-345 du 24 avril 1996 créée le RNIAM.