Monthly workforce movement report 

DMMO

Sources
Paru le :Paru le21/06/2024

The monthly workforce movement report is compulsory for agricultural establishments, industrial establishments, wholesale and retail trade, commercial companies, public or private services, publics offices, ministerial agencies, liberal professions, non-trading compagnies or civil societies, trade unions, associations of whatsoever nature employing at least 50 employers.

This declaration reports recruitment and employment contract terminations.

The regulations that concern the report are defined in the following articles of the French Labour Code: article L 320-1, Decree of 27 February 1987 and article R. 320-1-1 (Order no.76-295 of 2 April 1976; Order no.87-134 of 27 February 1987).

The DMMO reports can be used:

1. to study workforce turnover according to activity and size of establishment, characteristics of employees (age, gender, etc.), and according to the reasons for employees joining and for leaving (national and local levels);

2. to calculate an advanced monthly indicator of trends in paid employment at national level across all of the mainly market sectors (collaboration between Dares, Research, studies and statistics department of the Ministry in charge of Labour, and INSEE).

The system was set up in 1975 to monitor whether employment legislation was being respected (especially in terms of hiring after dismissal).

The law of 3 July 1986, which removed the administrative authorisation requirement for dismissal, nevertheless maintained the obligation to make a monthly declaration of workforce movements in order to monitor employment.

The declarations began to be used for statistical purposes in 1976. There have been several phases of development.

From 1976 to 1980, employee numbers and overall flows (numbers entering and leaving in the course of the month) for establishments with 200 employees and more were processed.

From 1981, this was extended to establishments with 50 to 200 employees.

From 1983, a new procedure was set up: information collected from the declaration became exhaustive. In addition to numbers and flows, information was provided on characteristics of employees who were joining or leaving: gender, age, qualification, nationality, type of employment contract or reason for leaving.

This new format was gradually extended to all the regions. In 1984, it covered 17 regions. Those absent were: Bourgogne, Alsace, Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrenees, Auvergne.

In 1985, 19 regions were covered. Those absent were: Bourgogne, Midi-Pyrenees, Auvergne. In 1986, 21 regions were covered, and only Auvergne was missing. All 22 regions have been covered since 1987.

In 1989, declaration of profession according to the classification of professions and socio-professional categories (PCS 1982) was added.

Since 2003, the coding used in administrative sources relating to salaried employment in an enterprise is based on PCS-ESE 2003 and the composite economic classification (NES version 2003).

Plus d'informations

Administrative data

Directorate of Research, Economic Studies and Statistics 

Monthly

intertitreintertitreintertitre

Déclaration mensuelle des mouvements de main-d'œuvreDMMO

Sources
Paru le : 23/10/2018

Résumé

La déclaration mensuelle des mouvements de main-d'œuvre est obligatoire pour les établissements agricoles, industriels et commerciaux publics ou privés, les offices publics ou ministériels, les professions libérales, les sociétés civiles, les syndicats professionnels et les associations de quelque nature que ce soit, employant au moins 50 salariés.

Cette déclaration recense les embauches et résiliations de contrat de travail.

Les règles relatives à la déclaration sont définies par les articles suivants du Code du Travail : article L 320-1, Arrêté du 27 février 1987 et article R. 320-1-1 (Décret n°76-295 du 2 avril 1976 ; Décret n°87-134 du 27 février 1987).

L'exploitation des DMMO permet :

1. L'étude de la rotation de la main-d'œuvre selon l'activité et la taille des établissements, les caractéristiques des salariés (âge, sexe, etc.) ainsi que selon la nature des mouvements d'entrée et les motifs de sortie (niveaux national et local) ;

2. De calculer un indicateur mensuel avancé de l'évolution de l'emploi salarié au niveau national sur l'ensemble des secteurs principalement marchands. (collaboration entre la Dares, service statistique du ministère en charge du travail et l'Insee).

Historique

Le système a été mis en place en 1975 pour le contrôle du respect de la législation sur l'emploi (notamment en matière d'embauche après licenciement économique).

La loi du 3 juillet 1986, qui a supprimé l'autorisation administrative de licenciement, a toutefois maintenu l'obligation de déclaration mensuelle des mouvements de main d'œuvre au titre de contrôle de l'emploi.

L'exploitation statistique des déclarations a commencé dès 1976. Elle a connu plusieurs phases de développement.

De 1976 à 1980, les effectifs et les flux globaux (nombre d'entrées et de sorties au cours du mois) des établissements de 200 salariés et plus étaient traités.

A partir de 1981, l'exploitation a été étendue aux établissements de 50 à 200 salariés.

A partir de 1983, une nouvelle exploitation a été mise en place : la saisie de la déclaration devient exhaustive. En plus des effectifs et des flux, on dispose des caractéristiques des salariés faisant l'objet d'un mouvement : sexe, âge, qualification, nationalité, nature du contrat d'embauche ou motif de la sortie.

La nouvelle exploitation s'est étendue progressivement à l'ensemble des régions. En 1984, elle couvrait 17 régions. Étaient absentes : la Bourgogne, l'Alsace, l'Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, l'Auvergne.

En 1985, l'exploitation couvrait 19 régions. Étaient absentes : la Bourgogne, Midi-Pyrénées, l'Auvergne. En 1986, l'exploitation couvrait 21 régions ; seule l'Auvergne faisait défaut. Le champ des 22 régions est couvert depuis 1987.

En 1989, la déclaration de la profession selon nomenclature des catégories socioprofessionnelles (PCS 1982) a été ajoutée.

Depuis 2003, le codage dans les sources administratives relatives aux emplois salariés d'entreprise s'appuie sur la PCS-ESE 2003 et la nomenclature économique de synthèse (la NES version 2003).

Plus d'informations

Type d'opération

Source administrative

Organisme responsable

  • Direction de l'Animation de la Recherche, des Études et des Statistiques
  • Direction des statistiques démographiques et sociales

Fréquence de collecte des données

Mensuelle

Séries ou indicateurs liés