Price index for second-hand dwellings

Sources
Paru le : 21/02/2019
Consulter

Description

Description

The Notaires-INSEE second-hand housing price indices provide a means of measuring changes in the prices of second-hand dwellings at constant quality. The price used is the net selling price, excluding property transfer duties, notary fees and agency commission.

Housing price indices can meet a variety of needs: from a simple analysis of price changes to an analysis of risk for lenders, to the implementation of monetary policy and national accounting.

History

Insee is responsible for providing official statistics, including the national accounts and price indices. Until the end of the 1990s, Insee published no housing price indices, except for the city of Paris which has had a series of indices for second-hand apartments since 1983.
In 1997, the Higher Council of the Notariat (Conseil Supérieur du Notariat - CSN) decided to create a price index for housing located outside Paris. It turned to Insee and its research centre (Crest) for advice on methodology. Formal agreements were signed in 1998 and 1999 between the notaries and Insee. Notaries collected the data and calculated the indices every quarter. In this way, many indices became available to the public free of charge.

Produced from

Related to

Indice des prix des logements anciens

Sources
Paru le : 11/12/2018
Consulter

Description

Résumé

Les indices Notaires-Insee (labellisés Notaires-Insee) des prix des logements anciens fournissent une mesure des évolutions de prix des logements anciens à qualité constante. Le prix retenu est le prix net vendeur, hors droits de mutation, frais de notaire et commission d'agence.

Des indices des prix des logements répondent à des besoins divers : de la simple analyse de l'évolution des prix à l'analyse du risque des prêteurs, en passant par la conduite de la politique monétaire et la comptabilité nationale.

Historique

L'Insee est chargé de fournir les statistiques officielles, y compris les comptes nationaux et les indices de prix. Jusqu'à la fin des années 1990, il ne publiait pas d'indices des prix des logements sauf pour la ville de Paris qui disposait depuis 1983 d’une série d’indices des appartements anciens.
En 1997, le Conseil supérieur du notariat (CSN) a souhaité créer un indice de prix pour les logements situés en dehors de la région parisienne. Il s’est alors tourné vers l'Insee et son centre de recherches (Crest) pour des conseils méthodologiques. Des accords formels ont été signés en 1998 et 1999 entre les notaires et l'Insee. Les notaires recueillent les données et calculent les indices chaque trimestre.

Produit de

Séries ou indicateurs liés