Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics / NUTS


Dernière mise à jour le :13/12/2018


The classification of territorial units for statistics, abbreviated NUTS (from the French version Nomenclature des Unités territoriales statistiques) is a geographical classification subdividing the economic territory of the European Union (EU) into regions at three different levels. It serves as a reference for the collection of regional statistics, for the socio-economic analyzes of the regions, for the definition of the regional policies of the EU.


The NUTS 2013 classification is replaced by NUTS 2016 for all regional statistics collected by Eurostat from 1 Jan. 2018.

The change introduced for France by this so-called NUTS 2016 revision consists of classifying the new French regions at the NUTS 1 level (the ZEATs no longer exist as such). The NUTS 2 level matches with the old regions and the NUTS 3 with the départements.

To find out more

  • about the NUTS 2013:
  • about the revision of the NUTS 2016: