Living zone


Dernière mise à jour le :13/10/2016


The division of France into "living zones" was conducted to facilitate the understanding of the structuring of metropolitan France.

The living zone is the smallest territory on which residents have access to facilities and the everyday services.

The everyday services and facilities used to define these living zones include six categories :

  • Personal services;
  • Commerce;
  • Education;
  • Health ;
  • Sports, recreation and culture;
  • Transport.