Institutional sectors


Dernière mise à jour le :13/10/2016


The various protagonists of economic life are grouped in sets considered to be relevant. The so-called institutional units constitute the basic units of the national accounts. They are units likely to have active people, to underwrite commitments, to commit to economic activities and to undertake operations with other units. The institutional sectors include the institutional units with similar economic forms of behaviour characterised by their main function and the nature of their activity.

There are five resident institutional sectors :

non-financial companies (SNF), S.11) ;

financial companies (SF), S.12) ;

general government (APU), S.13) ;

households (S.14) ;

and non-profit institutions serving households (NPISH), S.15).

All the non-resident units, insofar as they maintain economic relations with the resident units, are grouped in the rest of the world (S.2).