Sensitive urban zone / ZUS


Dernière mise à jour le :13/10/2016


Sensitive urban zones (ZUS) are infra-urban territories defined by the authorities as being priority targets for urban policy, according to local factors relating to the difficulties that the inhabitants of these territories are experiencing.

The law of 14 November 1996 to implement an urban policy recovery agreement distinguishes three levels of intervention :

  • sensitive urban zones (ZUS) ;
  • urban regeneration zones (ZRU) ;
  • free urban zones (ZFU).

Characterised by increasingly extensive fiscal and social measures, the three levels of intervention, ZUS, ZRU and ZFU, aim to respond to the various levels of difficulty experienced in these districts.