Classification of professions and socioprofessional categories / PCS / Catégories socioprofessionnelles / CSP / PCS-ESE

Dernière mise à jour le : 13/10/2016


The Classification of Professions and Socioprofessional Categories, or PCS, replaced the CSP in 1982. It classifies the population by a combination of profession (or former profession), hierarchical position and status (salaried employee or otherwise).

It comprises three embedded levels of aggregation :

  • the socioprofessional groups (8 items) ;
  • the socioprofessional categories (24 and 42 items) ;
  • the professions (486 items).

This version (PCS-2003) has been in force since 1st January 2003. The first and second levels have remained unchanged from the first version, in force from 1982 to 2003.

The 2003 update therefore concerned only the third level which contained 455 items in its 1982 version. It grouped together some professions between which the distinction had become obsolete and broke down others to take account of the appearance of new professions or of new functions that were transversal to different industrial activities.

There is a more detailed version of the classification of professions for the use of enterprises, known as PCS-ESE-2003.