Minimum wage in the European Union


Dernière mise à jour le :13/10/2016


A national legal minimum wage applies in twenty one of twenty seven Member states of the European Union: in the Netherlands since 1969, in France since 1970, in Luxembourg since 1973, in Portugal and in Malta since 1974, in Belgium since 1975, in Spain since 1980, in Hungary since 1988, in Bulgaria, Poland and Rumania since 1990, in Estonia, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Czech Republic and Slovakia since 1991, in Slovenia since 1995, in Croatia since 1998 (law modified in 2008), in the United Kingdom since 1999 and in Ireland since 2000.