Go to contents

Go to main menu

Go to engine search

top-cross links

The Consumer Prices Index increased by 0.3% in December 2012; it rose by 1.3% year-on-year

Prices index December 2012

Here are published monthly and year-on-year changes of the Consumer Prices Index (CPI) in December 2012. Annual average changes of the CPI will be published on 17th January. Annual averages and year-on-year changes are different: annual averages refer to the whole set of prices observed during one year compared to those observed during the previous year. The year-on-year price changes refer to the prices observed during a particular month compared to those observed during the same month previous year.

Monthly change: +0.3% ; Year-on-year: +1.3%

In December 2012, the Consumer Price index (CPI) grew by 0.3%, after a decline by 0.2% in November. Year-on-year, the CPI rose by 1.3% (+1.4% in November). Excluding tobacco, the CPI went up also by 0.3% in December (+1.2% compared to December 2011). Seasonally adjusted, rise of the CPI reached 0.1% in December (+1.3% year-on-year). The largest upward pressures on the change in the CPI of December came mainly from seasonally price hikes in services and manufactured products.

Rises in service prices for seasonal reasons

Prices in certain service prices jumped in December 2012, owing to holidays at the year ending. The main components with the highest monthly rates in December were air fares (+12.5%), package travel prices (+17.0%; +1.3% year-on-year) and holiday villages and holiday centers prices (+8.4%). As usual in December, refuse collection fees increased (+2.8%; +3.3% in December 2011). Besides, this year, communication prices recovered a little in December (+1.8%; 13.3% year-on-year) due to more favorable new mobile rates. Service charges for insurance grew also significantly after promotion endings (+2.0%; +3.3% year-on-year). Overall, service prices rose by 0.7% in December 2012 (+1.3% year-on-year; +0.5% in December 2011).

Detailed figures for various groups
base 100 : 1998
Source : Insee - Consumer Price Indexes
Percentage change
Items weight 2012 Index Dec. 2012 Month rate Annual rate
a) All households - France
All items (00E) 10000 126,76 0,3 1,3
All items SA (00C) 10000 126,74 0,1 1,3
Food (4000E) 1638 131,73 0,0 2,3
Fresh food (4001E) 205 140,12 0,1 7,7
Food excluding fresh products (4002E) 1433 130,53 0,0 1,5
Tobacco (4034E) 198 241,37 0,0 6,9
MANUFACTURED PRODUCTS (4003E) 2987 102,22 0,2 0,2
Clothing and footwear (4004E) 466 111,42 0,7 1,2
Medical products (4005E) 460 82,58 0,3 3,1
Other manufactured products (4006E) 2061 104,80 0,2 0,7
ENERGY (4007E) 868 176,55 0,2 2,6
Petroleum products (4008E) 518 207,73 0,3 1,0
SERVICES (4009E) 4309 132,55 0,7 1,3
Actual rentals and services for dwellings (4010E) 737 139,03 0,2 2,1
Medical services (4011E) 529 121,75 0,1 1,3
Transport and communication services (4012E) 523 97,55 3,0 5,2
Other services (4013E) 2520 141,21 0,5 2,3
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING RENTALS AND TOBACCO (5000E) 9217 124,47 0,3 1,2
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING TOBACCO (4018E) 9802 125,02 0,3 1,2
b) manual or clerical worker headed urban households- France
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING TOBACCO (4018D) 9716 124,83 0,3 1,2
ALL ITEMS (00D) 10000 127,37 0,3 1,4
Detailed figures for Core inflation* and HICP**
* ISJ : Core inflation indicator excludes public sector prices, the most volatile consumer prices and the tax measures. This index is seasonally adjusted. This index is calculated for all households in France excluding overseas departments and territories (base 100 1998).
**HICP: Harmonised Indices of Consumer Prices are inflation figures required under the Treaty on the functioning of the European Union. They are designed for international comparison of consumer price inflation between Member states of the Union. This index is calculated for all households in France (base 100 2005).
Source : Insee - Consumer Price Indexes
Percentage change
Items weight 2012 Index Dec. 2012 Month rate Annual rate
All items "Core inflation" (4022S) 6096 121,85 0,2 0,7
Food excuding fresh products, meat, milk and exotic products (4019S) 701 126,24 0,1 0,6
Manufactured products (4020S) 2472 105,68 0,0 0,7
Services including actual rentals and services for dwellings (4021S) 2923 136,82 0,5 0,7
All items HICP (00H) 114,41 0,4 1,5

Consumer price index (IPC) and Core inflation (ISJ) year-on-year changes

Consumer price index (IPC) and Core inflation (ISJ)  year-on-year changes

Source : Insee - indice des prix la consommation

Rise in manufactured product prices

In December 2012, prices of manufactured products went up by 0.2% (+0.2% year-on-year). Clothing and footwear prices were up for seasonal reasons in December (+0.7%, like in December 2011; +1.2% year-on-year). The same went for Household textiles (+4.7% in December 2012; +3.6% in December 2011) and for Furniture and furnishings, carpets and other floor coverings (+0.4%; +0.5% year-on-year). On the opposite, downward pressures came from the pursuit of price declines in medical products (0.3%; 3.1% year-on-year), in information processing equipment (1.0%; 6.6% year-on-year), in Equipment for the reception, recording and reproduction of sound and pictures (0.9%; 10.1% year-on-year), in photographic and cinematographic equipment (2.2%; 13.7% year-on-year) and in Telephone and telefax equipment (0.9%; 8.2% year-on-year). Besides, prices of new car increased in December (+1.0%; +2.0% year-on year) after promotion endings.

Food prices stabilized

Food prices were steady in December 2012 (+2.3% year-on-year). Prices of fresh food products decreased again slightly in December (0.1% after 1.1% In November). Year-on year, they increased by 7.7% in December. Fruit prices went down for seasonal reasons in December (1.4%; +8.2% year-on-year) while fresh vegetable prices went up (+0.5%; +11.2% year-on-year). Despite large hikes in raw food prices from the beginning of 2012, other food prices (excluding fresh products) remained globally steady in December (+1.5% year-on-year). Hikes, in particular in meat prices (+0.4%; +3.1% year-on-year) Raisings in meat prices were offset in December by downturns in alcoholic beverage prices (0.4%; +3.4% year-on-year), in non-alcoholic beverage prices (0.2%; +1.2% year-on-year) and in bread and cereal prices (0.1%; +1.0% year-on-year).

Energy prices slipped again in December

In December 2012, energy prices decreased again (0.2%; +2.6% year-on-year) as a consequence of a new drop in petroleum product prices (0.3%; +1.0% year-on-year). This new decline is more marked for heat fuel prices (1.1%; +3.1% over one year) than for fuels for transport (0.2%; +0.4% year-on-year). Gas and electricity prices were stable in December but they grew respectively by 8.2% and 3.2% year-on-year.

Core inflation stable in November over a year

Core inflation indicator (ISJ) rose by 0.2% in December 2012 (+0.7% year-on-year, unchanged from November 2012). The harmonized Index of Consumer Prices (HICP) increased by 0.4% (+1.5% year-on-year after +1.6% in November).

Informations Rapides

n 6 - January 10, 2013

Consumer price index - December 2012

Next issue September 11, 2014 08:45 - August 2014

For further information

See also

New

Since July 2009, display of the Informations Rapides has changed.

Aller au contenu

Aller au menu principal

Aller à la recherche

Liens transversaux haut

Les prix à la consommation sont en hausse de 0,3 % en décembre 2012 ; ils augmentent de 1,3 % sur un an

Indice des prix à la consommation – Décembre 2012

Ce document présente l’évolution des indices en variations mensuelles et en glissement annuel. Les évolutions des prix en moyenne annuelle seront, quant à elles, publiées le 17 janvier. Moyennes annuelles et glissements annuels sont des concepts différents : le premier s’appuie sur l’ensemble des prix d’une année et peut être comparé d’une année sur l’autre ; le second s’appuie sur les prix observés un seul mois d’une année donnée, rapportés à ceux du même mois de l’année précédente.

Évolution mensuelle : +0,3 % ; variation sur un an : +1,3 %

En décembre 2012, l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) est en hausse de 0,3 % après une baisse de 0,2 % en novembre. Sur un an, il augmente de 1,3 % (+1,4 % en novembre). Hors tabac, l’indice est également en hausse de 0,3 % (+1,2 % sur un an). Corrigé des variations saisonnières, la hausse de l’IPC atteint 0,1 % en décembre (+1,3 % sur un an). La hausse des prix du mois de décembre provient de celles, essentiellement saisonnières, des services et des produits manufacturés.

Hausse saisonnière des prix de certains services

Les prix de certains services progressent fortement en décembre 2012 en lien avec les congés de la fin de l’année : +12,5 % pour les tarifs des transports aériens, +17,0 % pour les voyages touristiques tout compris (+1,3 % sur un an) et +8,4 % pour les hébergements de vacances. Comme d’ordinaire, les prix des services d’enlèvement des ordures ménagères augmentent également (+2,8 % ; +3,3 % en décembre 2011). À ces hausses saisonnières, s’ajoutent en décembre 2012 un rebond des prix des télécommunications (+1,8 % ; —13,3 % sur un an) dû à des modifications de tarifs de services de téléphonie mobile. En outre, les primes d’assurance ont augmenté (+2,0 % ; +3,3 % sur un an) après la fin de certaines promotions. Au total, les prix des services progressent de +0,7 % en décembre cette année (+1,3 % sur un an ; +0,5 %  en décembre 2011).

Variations des indices de prix détaillés
base 100 : année 1998
Source : Insee - indices des prix à la consommation
Variations (en %) au cours
Regroupements conjoncturels Pondé rations 2012 Indices déc. 2012 du dernier mois des 12 derniers mois
a) Ensemble des ménages - France
ENSEMBLE (00 E) 10000 126,76 0,3 1,3
Ensemble CVS (00 C) 10000 126,74 0,1 1,3
ALIMENTATION (4000 E) 1638 131,73 0,0 2,3
Produits frais (4001 E) 205 140,12 –0,1 7,7
Alimentation hors produits frais (4002 E) 1433 130,53 0,0 1,5
TABAC (4034 E) 198 241,37 0,0 6,9
PRODUITS MANUFACTURÉS (4003 E) 2987 102,22 0,2 0,2
Habillement et chaussures (4004 E) 466 111,42 0,7 1,2
Produits de santé (4005 E) 460 82,58 –0,3 –3,1
Autres produits manufacturés (4006 E) 2061 104,80 0,2 0,7
ÉNERGIE (4007 E) 868 176,55 –0,2 2,6
dont Produits pétroliers (4008 E) 518 207,73 –0,3 1,0
SERVICES (4009 E) 4309 132,55 0,7 1,3
Loyers, eau et enlèvement des ordures ménagères (4010 E) 737 139,03 0,2 2,1
Services de santé (4011 E) 529 121,75 0,1 1,3
Transports et communications (4012 E) 523 97,55 3,0 –5,2
Autres services (4013 E) 2520 141,21 0,5 2,3
ENSEMBLE HORS LOYERS ET HORS TABAC (5000 E) 9217 124,47 0,3 1,2
ENSEMBLE HORS TABAC (4018 E) 9802 125,02 0,3 1,2
b) Ménages urbains dont le chef est ouvrier ou employé - France
ENSEMBLE HORS TABAC (4018 D) 9716 124,83 0,3 1,2
ENSEMBLE (00 D) 10000 127,37 0,3 1,4
Évolution des indices d'inflation sous-jacente* et de l'IPCH**
* ISJ : les indices d'inflation sous-jacente excluent les tarifs publics et les produits à prix volatils, et sont corrigés des mesures fiscales et des variations saisonnières. Ils sont en base 100 en 1998. Ils sont calculés pour l'ensemble des ménages et pour la France métropolitaine.
**IPCH : indice des prix à la consommation harmonisé utilisé pour les comparaisons entre les pays membres de l'Union européenne. Il est en base 100 en 2005. Cet indice est calculé pour l'ensemble des ménages et pour la France.
Source : Insee - indices des prix à la consommation
Variations (en %) au cours
Regroupements conjoncturels Pondé rations 2012 Indices déc. 2012 du dernier mois des 12 derniers mois
ENSEMBLE "sous-jacent" (4022 S) 6096 121,85 0,2 0,7
I.A.A. hors viandes, produits laitiers et exotiques (4019 S) 701 126,24 –0,1 0,6
Produits manufacturés (4020 S) 2472 105,68 0,0 0,7
Services y compris loyers et eau (4021 S) 2923 136,82 0,5 0,7
Ensemble IPCH (00 H) 114,41 0,4 1,5

Glissements annuels de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et de l'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ)

Glissements annuels de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et de l'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ)

Hausse des prix des produits manufacturés

En décembre 2012, les prix des produits manufacturés augmentent de 0,2 % (+0,2 % sur un an). Les prix de l’habillement-chaussures s’accroissent de manière saisonnière en décembre (+0,7 %  comme en 2011 ; +1,2 % sur un an). Il en va de même pour les prix des articles de ménage en textile (+4,7 % en décembre 2012 ; +3,6 % en décembre 2011) et des meubles et articles d’ameublement (+0,4 % ; +0,5 % sur un an). À l’opposé, la baisse se poursuit pour les produits de santé (—0,3 % ; —3,1 % sur un an), les matériels de traitement de l’information (—1,0 % ; —6,6 % sur un an), les équipements audio-visuels (—0,9 % ; —10,1 % sur un an), les équipements de photo et cinéma et les instruments d’optique (—2,2 % ; —13,7 % sur un an), ainsi que les équipements de téléphone et télécopie (—0,9 % ; —8,2 % sur un an). Enfin, les prix des automobiles neuves progressent en décembre 2012 (+1,0 % ; +2,0 % sur un an) en raison, principalement, de fins de promotions.

Stabilité des prix de l’alimentation

Les prix de l’alimentation sont stables en décembre 2012 (+2,3 % sur un an). Les prix des produits frais se replient en décembre (—0,1 %) après avoir été très dynamiques au cours des mois précédents (+7,7 % sur un an). De manière saisonnière, les prix des fruits frais sont en repli en décembre (—1,4 % ; +8,2 % sur un an) tandis que les prix des légumes frais sont en hausse (+0,5 % ; +11,2 % sur un an). En dépit des hausses des prix des matières premières alimentaires observées depuis le début de l’année, les prix de l’alimentation hors produits frais sont globalement stables en décembre (+1,5 % sur un an). Les hausses des prix, des viandes notamment (+0,4 % ; +3,1 % sur un an), ont été compensées par des baisses, en particulier celles des prix des boissons alcoolisées (—0,4 % ; +3,4 % sur un an) et non alcoolisées (—0,2 % ; +1,2 % sur un an) ainsi que celles du pain et céréales (—0,1 % ; +1,0 % sur un an).

Nouveau recul des prix de l’énergie

En décembre 2012, les prix de l’énergie diminuent de nouveau (—0,2 % ; +2,6 % sur un an), en raison d’une nouvelle baisse des prix des produits pétroliers (—0,3 % ; +1,0 % sur un an) en lien avec les reculs récents des cours du pétrole. En décembre, celle-ci est plus marquée pour les combustibles liquides (—1,1 % ; +3,1 % sur un an) que pour les carburants (—0,2 % et +0,4 % sur un an). Les prix du gaz et de l’électricité sont stables en décembre mais progressent respectivement de 8,2 % et de 3,2 % sur un an.

Stabilité de l’inflation sous–jacente sur un an

L’indicateur d'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ) augmente de 0,2 % en décembre 2012 (+0,7 % sur un an comme en novembre 2012). L’indice des prix à la consommation harmonisé (IPCH) croît de 0,4 % (+1,5 % sur un an après +1,6 % en novembre).

Informations Rapides

n° 6 - 10 janvier 2013

Indice des prix à la consommation - décembre 2012

Prochaine parution le 13 novembre 2014 à 08h45 - octobre 2014