Go to contents

Go to main menu

top-cross links

Consumer prices increased by 0.1% in April 2015; over March and year-on-year

Prices index – April 2015

Monthly change: +0.1%; Year-on-year: +0.1%

In April 2015, French consumer prices rose slightly (+0.1% after +0.7% in March). Year-on-year, they also increased by 0.1% after having diminished for three months in a row (-0.1% in March, -0.3% in February and -0.4% in January).

The slight rise in consumer prices in April 2015 was due mainly to increases, partially seasonal, in prices of some services and manufactured products and to firmer petroleum product prices. Overall, food prices remained flat.

Slight increase in manufactured product prices

Prices of manufactured goods increased slightly in April 2015 (+0.1%) but remained on a downward trend year-on-year (-0.9%). For clothing and footwear, the introduction of new collections was accompanied by price increases as every year in April (+0.6%; -0.5% year-on-year as in March). Prices of many other products grew significantly, as audio-visual, photographic and information processing equipments (+0.6%; -5.1% year-on-year), jewellery, clocks and watches (+0.9%; +1.1% year-on-year), bedding (+1.8%; -0.1% year-on-year), furniture for bedroom (+0.5%; +1.4% year-on-year), plants and flowers (+2.0%; +5.5% year-on-year) as well as periodicals (+0.9%; +3.6% year-on-year). On the opposite, prices of new cars decreased (-0.7%; stable year-on-year) due to promotional offers. Finally, health product prices continued to decrease but at a more moderate pace than during the previous months (-0.1% in April; -2.9% year-on-year after -3.2% in March).

Detailed figures for various groups
base 100: year 1998
Source: INSEE - Consumer Price Indexes
Items Weight Index Percentage change
2015 April 2015 m-on-m change y-on-y change
a) All households - France
All items (00 E) 10000 128.27 0.1 0.1
All items SA (00 C) 10000 127.96 0.2 0.1
Food (4000 E) 1662 132.37 0.0 0.3
Fresh food (4001 E) 211 146.28 0.0 6.2
Food excluding fresh products (4002 E) 1451 130.43 0.0 -0.6
Tobacco (4034 E) 199 259.28 0.0 0.3
MANUFACTURED PRODUCTS (4003 E) 2584 100.26 0.1 -0.9
Clothing and footwear (4004 E) 437 111.22 0.6 -0.5
Medical products (4005 E) 427 76.54 -0.1 -2.9
Other manufactured products (4006 E) 1720 103.76 0.1 -0.6
ENERGY (4007 E) 815 172.67 0.2 -3.4
Petroleum products (4008 E) 418 185.14 0.3 -8.2
SERVICES (4009 E) 4740 137.35 0.1 1.2
Actual rentals and services for dwellings (4010 E) 767 143.57 0.1 0.9
Medical services (4011 E) 568 122.84 0.1 0.4
Transport and communication services (4012 E) 510 97.55 1.5 1.1
Other services (4013 E) 2895 148.15 -0.1 1.5
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING RENTALS AND TOBACCO (5000 E) 9192 125.67 0.1 0.0
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING TOBACCO (4018 E) 9801 126.35 0.1 0.1
b) Manual or clerical worker headed urban households - France
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING TOBACCO (4018 D) 9714 126.16 0.2 0.1
ALL ITEMS (00 D) 10000 128.97 0.1 0.1
c) Households that belong to the lowest equivalized disposable income quintile - France
ALL ITEMS EXCLUDING TOBACCO (4018 Q) 9687 127.43 0.2 0.0
Detailed figures for Core inflation* and HICP**
* ISJ : Core inflation indicator excludes public sector prices, the most volatile consumer prices and the tax measures. Seasonally adjusted, this index is calculated for all households in France excluding overseas departments and territories (base 100 1998).
**HICP : Harmonised Indices of Consumer Prices are inflation figures designed for international comparison of consumer price inflation between Member states of the European Union. This index is calculated for all households in France (base 100 2005).
Source : INSEE - Consumer Price Indexes
Items Weight Index Percentage change
2015 April 2015 m-on-m change y-on-y change
All items "Core inflation" (4022 S) 6042 122.95 0.1 0.4
Food excluding fresh products, meat, milk and exotic products (4019 S) 715 124.73 0.0 -0.6
Manufactured products (4020 S) 2103 104.3 -0.1 -0.7
Services including actual rentals and services for dwellings (4021 S) 3224 140.8 0.3 1.3
All items HICP (00 H) 116.03 0.1 0.1

Consumer price index (IPC) and Core inflation (ISJ) – year-on-year changes

Consumer price index (IPC) and Core inflation (ISJ) –  year-on-year changes

Source : INSEE - Consumer Price Indexes

Slight increase in service prices

In April 2015, service prices grew slightly (+0.1%; +1.2% year-on-year). As last year, airfares bounced back due to spring holidays (+8.0%; -1.7% year-on-year), as well as rentals for vacation (+1.6%;+1.2% year-on-year). On the other hand, also in a seasonal manner, prices of the other tourism-related services went down in April after their large increase in March, such as prices of accommodation

services (-6.6%; +1.6% year-on-year). Moreover, service charges for insurance rose significantly (+1.2%; +2.3% year-on-year) due to the end of special discounts on vehicle insurance and a sharp rise in complementary health insurances.

Energy prices rose again

In April 2015, energy prices increased again, but in a lesser manner than during the last months (+0.2 % after +1.0% in March and +2.1% in February). Year-on-year, they still decreased by 3.4%. They followed the rise of the petroleum product prices (+0.3% after +2.9%; -8.2% year-on-year), especially those of fuels (+0.5% in April, -7.2% year-on-year). Moreover, gas prices were also up slightly in April (+0.5%; -1.4% year-on-year) while electricity prices were stable (+4.3% year-on-year).

Food prices broadly unchanged

Food prices were flat in April 2015 (+0.3% year-on-year). Prices of fresh foodstuffs remained broadly unchanged in April (+6.2% year-on-year) : prices of fresh vegetables (+0.5%; +9.9% year-on-year) and those of fresh fish and seafood (+2.0%; +6.3% year-on-year) rose again while those of fresh fruits declined seasonally (-1.2%; +2.3% year-on-year). Overall, prices of the other food products (excluding unprocessed food) were also stable in April 2015 (-0.6% year-on-year) with, although, varying trends according to groups of products : prices of milk, cheeses, eggs, vegetable preparations and mineral waters declined again while those of wines continued to increase.

Core inflation indicator rose again slightly

In April 2015, the core inflation indicator (ISJ) grew by 0.1%, as in March. Year-on-year, it increased by 0.4% (after +0.2% in March). The harmonized Index of Consumer Prices (HICP) was up 0.1% in April over a month and year-on-year (after 0.0% year-on-year in March).

Informations Rapides

n° 116 - May 13, 2015

Consumer price index - April 2015

Next issue June 11, 2015 08:45 - May 2015

For further information

See also

New

Since July 2009, display of the Informations Rapides has changed.

Aller au contenu

Aller au menu principal

Liens transversaux haut

Les prix à la consommation augmentent de 0,1 % en avril 2015 sur un mois comme sur un an

Indice des prix à la consommation – Avril 2015

Évolution mensuelle : +0,1 % ; variation sur un an : +0,1 %

En avril 2015, les prix à la consommation augmentent légèrement (+0,1 % après +0,7 % en mars). Sur un an, ils s’accroissent également de 0,1 %, après trois mois consécutifs de baisse (-0,1 % en mars, -0,3 % en février et -0,4 % en janvier).

La légère hausse des prix à la consommation en avril 2015 provient surtout de l’augmentation, en partie saisonnière, des prix de certains services et produits manufacturés et du renchérissement des produits pétroliers. Globalement, les prix de l'alimentation sont stables.

Légère hausse des produits manufacturés

Les prix des produits manufacturés augmentent légèrement en avril 2015 (+0,1 %) mais demeurent en recul sur un an (-0,9 %). Pour l'habillement et les chaussures, la mise en place des nouvelles collections s’accompagne d’une hausse des prix comme chaque année en avril (+0,6 % ; -0,5 % sur un an comme en mars). Les prix de nombreux autres produits augmentent de façon notable, comme les équipements audio-visuels, photographiques et informatiques, (+0,6 % ; -5,1 % sur un an), les articles d'horlogerie, bijouterie et joaillerie (+0,9 % ; +1,1 % sur un an), les articles pour literie (+1,8 % ; -0,1 % sur un an), le mobilier de chambre (+0,5 % ;+1,4 % sur un an), les fleurs et plantes (+2,0 % ; +5,5 % sur un an), ainsi que les magazines (+0,9 % ; +3,6 % sur un an). À l’inverse les prix des automobiles neuves se replient (-0,7 % ; stabilité sur un an) en raison de promotions. Enfin, les prix des produits de santé baissent de nouveau, à un rythme cependant plus modéré qu'au cours des derniers mois (-0,1 % en avril ; -2,9 % sur un an après -3,2 % en mars).

Variations des indices de prix détaillés
base 100 : année 1998
Source : Insee - indices des prix à la consommation
Regroupements Pondé- Indices Variations (en %) au cours
conjoncturels rations 2015 avril 2015 du dernier mois des 12 derniers mois
a) Ensemble des ménages - France
ENSEMBLE (00 E) 10000 128,27 0,1 0,1
Ensemble CVS (00 C) 10000 127,96 0,2 0,1
ALIMENTATION (4000 E) 1662 132,37 0,0 0,3
Produits frais (4001 E) 211 146,28 0,0 6,2
Alimentation hors produits frais (4002 E) 1451 130,43 0,0 –0,6
TABAC (4034 E) 199 259,28 0,0 0,3
PRODUITS MANUFACTURÉS (4003 E) 2584 100,26 0,1 –0,9
Habillement et chaussures (4004 E) 437 111,22 0,6 –0,5
Produits de santé (4005 E) 427 76,54 –0,1 –2,9
Autres produits manufacturés (4006 E) 1720 103,76 0,1 –0,6
ÉNERGIE (4007 E) 815 172,67 0,2 –3,4
dont Produits pétroliers (4008 E) 418 185,14 0,3 –8,2
SERVICES (4009 E) 4740 137,35 0,1 1,2
Loyers, eau et enlèvement des ordures ménagères (4010 E) 767 143,57 0,1 0,9
Services de santé (4011 E) 568 122,84 0,1 0,4
Transports et communications (4012 E) 510 97,55 1,5 1,1
Autres services (4013 E) 2895 148,15 –0,1 1,5
ENSEMBLE HORS LOYERS ET HORS TABAC (5000 E) 9192 125,67 0,1 0,0
ENSEMBLE HORS TABAC (4018 E) 9801 126,35 0,1 0,1
b) Ménages urbains dont le chef est ouvrier ou employé - France
ENSEMBLE HORS TABAC (4018 D) 9714 126,16 0,2 0,1
ENSEMBLE (00 D) 10000 128,97 0,1 0,1
c) Ménages du 1er quintile de la distribution des niveaux de vie - France
ENSEMBLE HORS TABAC (4018 Q) 9687 127,43 0,2 0,0
Évolution des indices d'inflation sous-jacente* et de l'IPCH**
*Les indices d'inflation sous-jacente excluent les tarifs publics et les produits à prix volatils, et sont corrigés des mesures fiscales et des variations saisonnières. Base 100 en 1998, ils sont calculés pour l'ensemble des ménages et pour la France métropolitaine. Augmentation modérée des prix des services
**IPCH : indice des prix à la consommation harmonisé, utilisé pour les comparaisons entre membres de l'Union européenne. Base 100 en 2005, il est calculé pour tous les ménages, France entière.
Source : Insee - indices des prix à la consommation
Regroupements Pondé- Indices Variations (en %) au cours
conjoncturels rations 2015 avril 2015 du dernier mois des 12 derniers mois
ENSEMBLE "sous-jacent" (4022 S) 6042 122,95 0,1 0,4
I.A.A. hors viandes, produits laitiers et exotiques (4019 S) 715 124,73 0,0 –0,6
Produits manufacturés (4020 S) 2103 104,30 –0,1 –0,7
Services y compris loyers et eau (4021 S) 3224 140,80 0,3 1,3
Ensemble IPCH (00 H) 116,03 0,1 0,1

Glissements annuels de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et de l'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ)

Glissements annuels de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et de l'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ)

Augmentation modérée des prix des services

En avril 2015, les prix des services augmentent légèrement (+0,1 % ; +1,2 % sur un an). Comme l'an dernier, les prix des services du transport aérien rebondissent à la faveur des vacances de printemps (+8,0 % ; -1,7 % sur un an), de même que ceux des résidences de vacances (+1,6 % ; +1,2 % sur un an). À l’inverse, également de manière saisonnière, les prix

des autres services liés au tourisme tendent à se replier en avril après leur vive hausse du mois de mars, comme ceux des services d’hébergement (-6,6 % ; +1,6 % sur un an). Par ailleurs, les prix des assurances augmentent nettement (+1,2 % ; +2,3 % sur un an) en raison de sorties de promotions des assurances automobiles et de la hausse marquée des assurances santé complémentaires.

Les produits pétroliers se renchérissent encore

En avril 2015, les prix de l’énergie augmentent de nouveau, mais plus modérément qu'au cours des mois précédents (+0,2 % après +1,0 % en mars et +2,1 % en février). Sur un an, ils demeurent en recul de 3,4 %. Ils sont tirés par la hausse des prix des produits pétroliers (+0,3 % après +2,9 % ; -8,2 % sur un an), en particulier des carburants (+0,5 % ; -7,2 % sur un an). Les prix du gaz de ville augmentent également en avril (+0,5 % ; -1,4 % sur un an) tandis que ceux de l'électricité sont stables (+4,3 % sur un an).

Stabilité des prix de l’alimentation

Les prix de l'alimentation sont stables en avril 2015 (+0,3 % sur un an). Les prix des produits frais sont globalement inchangés en avril (+6,2 % sur un an) : les prix des légumes frais (+0,5 % ; +9,9 % sur un an) et des poissons et crustacés frais (+2,0 % ; +6,3 % sur un an) restent dynamiques tandis que les prix des fruits frais baissent de façon saisonnière (-1,2 % ; +2,3 % sur un an). Hors produits frais, les prix alimentaires sont également stables (-0,6 % sur un an), avec des évolutions variées selon les produits : les prix du lait, des fromages, des œufs, des légumes préparés et des eaux minérales baissent à nouveau tandis que ceux des vins continuent d’augmenter.

L’inflation sous–jacente augmente de nouveau légèrement

En avril 2015, l’indicateur d'inflation sous-jacente (ISJ) augmente de 0,1 %, comme en mars. Sur un an, il est en hausse de 0,4 % (après +0,2 % en mars). L’indice des prix à la consommation harmonisé (IPCH) croît de 0,1 % sur un mois comme sur un an (après 0,0 % sur un an en mars).

Informations Rapides

n° 116 - 13 mai 2015

Indice des prix à la consommation - avril 2015

Prochaine parution le 11 juin 2015 à 08h45 - mai 2015

services Services