Go to contents

Go to main menu

Go to engine search

top-cross links

Legal populations

Definition

The generic term ‘legal populations’ includes the municipal population of each municipality along with its population counted apart and its total population, which is the sum of the two previous figures.

Legal populations are defined by decree No.2003-485 published in the Journal Officiel of June 8th 2003, concerning population censuses. They are now updated and certified by decree every year. Around 350 legislative or regulatory texts make reference to these population measures.

Municipal population is the figure used for statistical purposes; total population is the figure most frequently used in the implementation of legislative or regulatory measures.

Note

Until 1999, legal population figures were determined at each general census of the population. They could be modified between censuses by means of a supplementary census.

Since 2008, the new census method based on annual census surveys allows annual calculation of updated legal populations.
Therefore the end of 2009 saw the publication of the legal population figures which came into force on January 1st 2010. These legal populations are referred to as the 2007 figures, as they are calculated on the basis of information collected during census surveys in 2005 and 2009, then assimilated to a single date: the year in the middle of that period. This ensures equal treatment for all municipalities.
The new census measures updating the legal population figures annually also replace the previous system of supplementary censuses.

Aller au contenu

Aller au menu principal

Liens transversaux haut

Populations légales

Définition

Le terme générique de « populations légales » regroupe pour chaque commune sa population municipale, sa population comptée à part et sa population totale qui est la somme des deux précédentes.

Les populations légales sont définies par le décret n°2003-485 publié au Journal officiel du 8 juin 2003, relatif au recensement de la population. Désormais, elles sont actualisées et authentifiées par un décret chaque année. Environ 350 textes législatifs ou réglementaires font référence à ces populations.

La population municipale est celle qui est utilisée à des fins statistiques ; la population totale est la plus souvent utilisée pour l'application de dispositions législatives ou réglementaires.

Remarque

Jusqu'en 1999, les populations légales étaient déterminées à l'occasion de chaque recensement général de la population. Entre deux recensements elles pouvaient être modifiées par un recensement complémentaire.

A partir de 2008, la nouvelle méthode de recensement basée sur des enquêtes de recensement annuelles permet de calculer chaque année des populations légales actualisées.
Ainsi par exemple, fin 2009 ont été publiées les populations légales qui sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2010. Ces populations légales étaient millésimées 2007 car elles étaient calculées à partir des informations collectées lors des enquêtes de recensement de 2005 à 2009 et ramenées à une même date : celle du milieu de la période. L'égalité de traitement entre les communes est ainsi assurée.

Le nouveau dispositif de recensement qui actualise les populations légales chaque année se substitue aussi aux recensements complémentaires.