Go to contents

Go to main menu

Go to engine search

top-cross links

Urban area

Definition

Urban area: an urban area or a " big urban area " is a group of touching municipalities, without pockets of clear land, encompassing an urban centre (urban unit) providing at least 10 000 jobs, and by rural districts or an urban units (urban periphery) among which at least 40 % of employed resident population works in the centre or in the municipalities attracted by this centre.

The 2010 zoning of urban areas also distinguishes:

- The " average areas ", a group of municipalities, without pockets of clear land, constituted by a centre from 5 000 to 10 000 jobs, and by rural districts or urban units among which at least 40 % of the employed resident population works in the centre or in the municipalities which are attracted by this centre.

- The " small areas ", a group of municipalities, without pockets of clear land, constituted by a centre from 1 500 to 5 000 jobs, and by rural districts or urban units among which at least 40 % of the employed resident population works in the centre or in the municipalities attracted by this centre.

Aller au contenu

Aller au menu principal

Aller à la recherche

Liens transversaux haut

Aire urbaine

Définition

Une aire urbaine ou « grande aire urbaine » est un ensemble de communes, d'un seul tenant et sans enclave, constitué par un pôle urbain (unité urbaine) de plus de 10 000 emplois, et par des communes rurales ou unités urbaines (couronne périurbaine) dont au moins 40 % de la population résidente ayant un emploi travaille dans le pôle ou dans des communes attirées par celui-ci.

Le zonage en aires urbaines 2010 distingue également :

- les « moyennes aires », ensemble de communes, d'un seul tenant et sans enclave, constitué par un pôle urbain (unité urbaine) de 5 000 à 10 000 emplois, et par des communes rurales ou unités urbaines dont au moins 40 % de la population résidente ayant un emploi travaille dans le pôle ou dans des communes attirées par celui-ci.

- les « petites aires », ensemble de communes, d'un seul tenant et sans enclave, constitué par un pôle (unité urbaine) de 1 500 à 5 000 emplois, et par des communes rurales ou unités urbaines dont au moins 40 % de la population résidente ayant un emploi travaille dans le pôle ou dans des communes attirées par celui-ci.